Roy Blakey: Richard Christopher, April 7, 1973, A#13

$2,200.00
Quantity available: 1
Signed and titled in Blakey's hand with the photographer's New York City period studio stamp along with other notations, verso. This is a unique vintage print. Roy Blakey's photographs of dancers, actors and other artists appeared in the legendary After Dark magazine in the 1970s. Working in the tradition of George Platt Lynes, Blakey uses light and shadow to create masterful images of nude men -- all the while evoking a unique '70s style. In 1972, Blakey published his ground-breaking book entitled He. Male nudes had certainly appeared in other mainstream photography books of the time -- including those by Kenn Duncan, George Hester, Skrebneski and David Vance -- but always published alongside female nudes. In Blakey's book the male nude proudly came out.

Keywords: male nude figtv

Item Details

Reference #:
3129
Quantity
1
Category
Fine Art
Department
Antiques
Year
1973/vintage
Dimensions
(Width x Height X Depth)
10.75 x 7.25 x
Weight
Unknown
Condition
Excellent
Material
gelatin silver print